Create a custom site

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
artemas

Create a custom site

Hi I'm new to alfresco and I wanted to know how I can create a custom site. Currently I am using my Alfresco SDK 3.0. At the moment from what I have researched I know that I need to have a custom-site.xml within my directory: vanilla-alfresco/vanilla-alfresco-platform-jar/src/main/resources/alfresco/module/vanilla-alfresco-platform-jar/bootstrap

My question is, how can I generate this custom-site.xml. What are the steps to generate this file? I have seen examples of other people's custom-site.xml it seems to be a massive xml that must be generated from somewhere. If I know the steps to generate this that would be fantastic.

11 Replies
afaust
Master

Re: Create a custom site

You may want to look for already existing solutions since bootstrapping a site is something quite a lot of developers need to do. Alfresco itself already contains a mechanism for bootstrapping a site which they use for their default demo site when you install Alfresco. This entails a couple of ACP files for default contents / structures / members, and a Spring bean to actually wire everything together.

I don't know what this custom-site.xml you are mentioning is supposed to be or where you got that info from in your research, but I'd advise to first check if you cannot understand + use what is already there...

brandart

Hey, I have to develop a Site for a customer and I need some help getting started. 

I already played around with About the Alfresco Developer Tutorial Series | ECM Architect .

But have you some hints for me, where I can find a tutorial for developing a site? 

Best regards,

Arthur

jpotts
Professional

Arthur,