Help in creating documents

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
franksant13
Member II

Help in creating documents

Hello everyone, I am new to Alfresco and I am working on a project in which I have to create a folder where all the stored files are going to be of the same format (word or pdf) and each file must have the same name only differentiated by a number. This number represents the document number and must also be included in the content of the document. Users will create these documents from a template and the document number must be assigned automatically. If you could give me a hand to know where to start or which way to go, will help me a lot.
Thanks in advance

5 Replies
calvo

Re: Help in creating documents

Hi,

Maybe a first approach could be something like this:

- Define a content rule on an specific folder

- On create document, this rule will execute a script.

This script return number of documents of the folder and change de name of document to: "samename_returnedvalue"

¿The number of document should be in the text of document or like a property?

Regards,

clv

franksant13
Member II

Thanks for your response my friend.

I need to have the document number in the text of the document. It is not necesary to have it as a property. 

Do you know any tutorial to help me starting with usign scripts in alfresco?

jpotts
Professional

There are three parts to your question.

First, automatically generating a document number. To do that, consider writing a "service" class that is responsible for handing out document numbers. It's up to you whether you store the number in a database or somewhere in the repository. Many people prefer to just write a little JSON document in the Data Dictionary that tracks document numbers.