How to migrate data from different Ftps as datasource

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alex90
Member II

How to migrate data from different Ftps as datasource

Good Afternoon sir, my name is Alejandro and I'm a software engineer student From Cuba. I'm working in my thesis and right know i have a situation and I cant find a proper solution to my problem. So sorry to disturb you, i know that you are a very busy man, but hopefully you can dedicate a few minutes of your time.

The Situation: I'm going to implement a digital repository using alfresco community version 5.1 to manage our university digital content which is stored at a moment in differents ftp servers (software installers, books, thesis). I intent to use alfresco as a backend and Orchard CMS as our intranet frontend which is a non functional requierement and communicate both with CMIS. The general idea is that we use a social networking approch in which every user can modify metadata, add tags in order to improve the search, which by the way is the general objective of my work (allows searches and download to the digital content of our intranet , because right know it takes a lot of time to find anything because it is storage in a ftp server without a good cataloging).
I already successfully created a custom data model but when a decided to migrate the content from these ftps, i didn't find any documentation about it. I read about bulk import tool but it happent that i need the data locally in the same computer that runs alfresco, and as i said, the data source are different ftp server.
So How can i migrate data from differents ftps servers as datasource to Alfresco?. Is it necessary to physically import files to Alfresco or can i work with index pointing to the ftp files (keep the files in the ftps and have in Alfresco a reference of that object (I only have search and download functional requierements))?.