How to use Java Public API

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rflazzari

How to use Java Public API

Good morning,

I'm new with Alfresco and had readed a lot of documentation. I'm trying to build some library/api to my software to access the part of storage and management of files / folders of the Alfresco. (Integration with other systems)

Now I am using the Alfresco client (https://github.com/Alfresco/alfresco-client-sdk) but I don't know if it is the best solution because my project is in Java.
Readed about Java Public API but no mention of where I can get it (is the all in one maven archetype sdk?), and how to install. 

Can somebody give to me an expalanation and links to access Java Public API to create / manage content and if it have access to folder rules like document auto transformation (xls>pdf, etc.)?

Thanks!

7 Replies
angelborroy
Alfresco Employee

Re: How to use Java Public API

Probably this can help you to understand different Alfresco APIs:

http://beecon.buzz/2017/assets/files/H04/keensoft%20-%20Alfresco%20Learning%20-%20EN.pdf 

http://beecon.buzz/2017/assets/files/H04/keensoft%20-%20Alfresco%20Learning%20-%20ES.pdf 

In those documents you can find several ways of using Alfresco from outside Alfresco.

If you want to use Alfresco from inside Alfresco (deploying extensions to the product), you can develop Repository or Share artifacts. It's not required to use the Java Public API, but you can start learning at

https://ecmarchitect.com/alfresco-developer-series

I recommend you to start with Alfresco Maven SDK tutorial and then move your focus to specific tasks like Custom Content Types, Actions, Behaviours and Web Scripts.

Hyland Developer Evangelist
rflazzari

Thank you for the fast answer!