I want to add Bulk users to Groups and Provide Roles and permissions through ACL by automated script

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
piyush48
Established Member

I want to add Bulk users to Groups and Provide Roles and permissions through ACL by automated script

Jump to solution

I wanted to add Bulk users to Groups and provide roles and permissions through ACl to them. I have a csv file of users with me. Please guide by how i can do all this in one script or java file. As i am new to it thus it is ver difficult to understand some terms of ACL too but i am trying so plz guide me that how can i implement this all in one backend file and location for where to implement in share-war file.

Thanks.

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
abhinavmishra14
Advanced

Re: I want to add Bulk users to Groups and Provide Roles and permissions through ACL by automated sc

Jump to solution

It is not possible OOTB. I am not aware of any add-on which can perform the task of adding users to groups in bulk. However, you can create a custom webcript which will take excel/csv/xml/json file as input, find the Person node using the user's id and then lookup for the group node using Groupname (full qualified group name) and then add the respective user to that group. 

If you are not aware of how a webscript is created and consumed, Refer this tutorial: https://ecmarchitect.com/alfresco-developer-series-tutorials/webscripts/tutorial/tutorial.html 

Here are the steps you would do in your webscript:

1- Use the PersonService to find the person node based on userId. You would be parsing the input to get the user id.

final NodeRef personNodeRef = personService.getPerson(userId);