cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
javiercasfer

Incremental custom model

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm new at Alfresco and, after Googled alot, i have no solution to my current problem. 

My situation is that i have custom content model xml file and a cmm file for that model, both generated by a java application. First time is generated, i deploy the zip file to alfresco, activate the model and use bulk import tool to upload all my documents wich types are on that model. 

After a month, i repeat the process, the java application generates new model wich may have same types as the last model, and may have new with new properties. Now, i want to update the old model adding new types and properties wich are on the new model generated. Of course, I can't  deactivate the old model or add those new properties manually. 

So, what i need is a mechanism to have an active incremental custom model.

My questions are:  

- What options do i have?

- Really can i do that?

I'm using Alfresco Community version. 

Thanks in advice!

‌ #

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
javiercasfer

Re: Incremental custom model

Jump to solution

Hi everybody!

I've solved my problem. 

What I do is, when I do a content extraction from the source, i generate a model content xml with the types and properties i get. Then I use the xsd definition to compare my old model with my new one and add all new types and properties i have to the new one. 

Then, from may aggregation model (the old updated), i generate my own share-config-custom.xml with the forms and properties I need and model.propreties files. Then, replace these 3 files on my alfresco instalation and restart it. It works perfectly. Keep in mind that these only will work if you don't remove types or properties when you are updating your custom model. 

Maybe that could help someone. Thanks for all the answers. 

View solution in original post

13 Replies
angelborroy
Alfresco Employee

Jump to solution