PostgreSQL (New to this please help)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dan18fan
Member II

PostgreSQL (New to this please help)

Hello everyone, well... Alfresco is working fine for me, in my enterprise's local server (windows server 2012 r2) and I can open it in any PC that is connected to the server's domain.

Now... I've installed Odoo for future working purposes along with Alfresco, but I can't get Odoo to work.

Alfresco installed PostgreSQL and so Odoo did.

Are their "PostgreSQL's" independent? can they run for each service?

I also want to point out that I installed Alfresco first then Odoo.

And if PostgreSQL can run for both, how can I set them up to avoid any conflict? 

I'm really sorry, I'm new to all this things and it's my job to understand this environment 100%.

6 Replies
afaust
Master

Re: PostgreSQL (New to this please help)

If you install complex software like Alfresco or Odoo using the default provided installers, the components they rely on will usually be installed as separate / independent components. Such installers are usually meant for "quick start" type of scenarios - I don't see them fit for best practices / production use cases.

You can avoid conflicts between two PostgreSQL services by configuring their network ports to different values in their respective postgresql.conf files. This means you will also have to adapt the configuration of at least one of Alfresco or Odoo to use the changed port(s) for connecting to PostgreSQL.

What I'd do is a bit different. I would not install PostgreSQL service that is shipped with either installer. Instead I would install PostgreSQL (using an installer comming directly from PostgreSQL) as a single, shared service that provides databases for both business applications.

dan18fan
Member II