cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
eXtreme

Provide index text additional to file

Jump to solution

Hello,

I am rather new to Alfresco and I have an interesting problem regarding document indexing.

I already have in place a system to scan documents and extract the content from them.

What I would want is to save the document in Alfresco and provide the already extracted text so that it can be indexed by that.

Is there any way to tell Alfresco or Solr to use the text provided by me for the index?

Thank you!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sufo
Established Member II

Re: Provide index text additional to file

Jump to solution

Short answer on yor question #3: If you want to implement your own transformer (T-Engine), this is the place to read on: https://docs.alfresco.com/transform/concepts/extend-transforms.html

Some more thoughts:
If you can generate PDF document with recognized text content in it as an output from your scanning system (many scanning and OCR solutions do this - text over image or image over text). It is enough to upload these PDFs to Alfresco and it will provide text content to Solr for indexing. Alfresco uses Apache Tika for text extraction from various formats and there are also various other transformers. You can see what transformations are supported in your repository on this URL: /alfresco/service/mimetypes?mimetype=application/pdf#application/pdf (look for Transfomable to and text/plain in the details for your chosen mimetype).
Solr requests text content for fulltext indexing via this repository URL: /alfresco/s/api/solr/textContent?nodeId=xxx (more info on nodeId here nodeId <-> noderef) and then the transformation to text/plain happens in Alfresco.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
cristinamr
Advanced

Jump to solution

Hi and welcome!

Being honest, I think you are mixing concepts.