Question about Migrate from Microsoft file server (SMB) to alfresco

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sepehrha

Question about Migrate from Microsoft file server (SMB) to alfresco

Hi all,
I am new here, I have a situation that I need help.
One of our customers with about 200 employees are currently using windows share with Active directory for file sharing and collaboration, they have many folders inside folder with permisions set for read and write for specific persons or groups.
Some folders have read pemision for one employee and wrtie for other employee and some of them is privte for a specifc group.
And they are asking for a better solution to enhance.
Since I am new to alfresco , could you please guide me to achive migrating to alfresco for this purpose.
I read the docs and found that I can sync user account from active directory.
The big problem for me is the current files and folders and permisions , how can I move the files with the same permisions to alfresco , is it possible at all?
I searched google and no luck.
Is there any documentation or tool to help me achive this?

7 Replies
kintu_barot

Re: Question about Migrate from Microsoft file server (SMB) to alfresco

Yes, it is possible to create the folders within folders with the permission and move all the contents to Alfresco from Microsoft. Users can also be synced from Active Directory.

But more specifically, to help you on this we need to understand what enhancements you are looking for and in which terms you are looking for better solution.

Regards,
Kintu
sepehrha

Dear Kintu,

Thank you for the quick response, I am exactly looking for the guide to easily export ( from Microsoft windows ) and import folders and sub folders and files (To Alfresco) with the exact same permisions previously available.
Since there is a lot of data and folders avalible it is not possible to create the folders and permissions one by one manualy!