Revert document type change

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joergd

Revert document type change

I'm rather new to Alfresco and started to experiment with custom document types. Unfortunately, I wasn't aware about the one-way-type-change-restriction, leaving me now with quite a bunch of documents "locked" in some experimental document types.

Restarting from scratch is no option, so I would like to clean up by

• reverting document types of particular documents back to "cm:content"
  • removing the custom document type from ACS

Now, I already learned, that reverting the doc-type isn't possible via the UI, because this is potentially harmfull. That is plausible, but no issue here. It's ok, if any properties linked to the custom type are lost during generalization back to cm:content.

As @afaust mentioned in a post, reverting the type is possible via the "low-level API". That may be a no-brainer for Alfresco geeks, but it quite a hurdle without any example or reference. Unfortunately, I haven't been successful yet in finding any further posts, hints or examples how to accomplish this.

I've no issue with solving this challenge programtically (basic JavaScript and good Java skills are present), but it's hard to decide wich of the many APIs to follow here.

So, any hints or comments to help with this challenge are very welcome.

3 Replies
jpotts
Professional

Re: Revert document type change

Why not just copy the nodes to new instances of cm:content, then delete the old ones. That'll give you a chance to decide what to do with the properties that will no longer be present (delete them, use aspect-based properties, etc).

Once they are all gone (remembering to purge the trashcan of the deleted objects as well) you can safely remove the types from the model.

joergd

Hi Jeff, thanks for responding.