Transering data without root access

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
upforsin

Transering data without root access

Hello,

Let's say I'm a site manager (I have access to all files within the site). Can I transfer all site's files including permissions and folder structures to another Alfresco server, which I'm the owner?

howkymike
Alfresco Developer
2 Replies
afaust
Master

Re: Transering data without root access

Yes, but it depends either on the configuration of your system or your ability to craft some custom web script / URL calls. Every Alfresco installation has a default action called "export" which can be called by any user. This action can create a downloadable ZIP-like file (ACP = Alfresco Content Package), which can - with potentially no or only minor adaptions - be imported into another Alfresco system using a similar "import" action.

Unfortunately, a default Alfresco installation does not provide a UI action to trigger either the "export" nor "import" actions. So unless your system has been configured with some customisations, e.g. by adding a 3rd-party module to provide access to those actions or having some custom configuration to enable this, you are forced to craft web script calls using any kind of HTTP / ReST client (e.g. cURL). Such a call essentially needs to "fake" the submission of a form for the action, including the necessary action parameters as specially prepared form parameters.