cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
manasa
Member II

web project

hi

i am a beginner to alfresco community . i am doing a web project using alfresco community as a web content management ,i have to create web forms and web projects in alfresco .so, how can i create a web form  using alfresco community ?  how xsd and jsp of a web project are related ?. is it possible to edit text in jsp source code and deploy it in alfresco community?. is it better to use alfresco community or alfresco enterprise for wcm ? 

4 Replies
jpotts
Professional

Re: web project

Welcome to the community. I hope what I'm about to say does not discourage you from leveraging Alfresco for a project or participating in the community, but here it is: You do not want to use Alfresco for WCM.

If you simply need to create forms and store data there are far better solutions out there in terms of fit for purpose. This is not meant to disparaging Alfresco at all--I'm just a firm believer in using the right tool for the right job.

Alfresco is good for one thing: Storing office documents or other digital artifacts and facilitating collaboration around the creation, management, and publication of those digital files. If you are doing anything other than that, you are probably going to end up forcing a square peg into a round hole.

Perhaps take a look at Liferay or Magnolia, if you are trying to stay with Java, or if PHP is more your thing then Drupal or Wordpress are safe bets. I suppose if you are really set on using Alfresco for WCM you might look at Crafter.

manasa
Member II

Hi Jeff..Thank you very much for your response. 

We are already using alfresco for document management to store files. We are doing some R&D in alfresco WCM.

Even though we know wordpress and drupal are there for content management but it is licensed. We are searching for freeware software and we heard that alfresco can use for Web content management.