Why does starting a workflow with a shared document automatically create a new version of the file?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Member II

Why does starting a workflow with a shared document automatically create a new version of the file?

I'm new to Alfresco and I have been trying out some of its basic features to get a feel for it. I have created two users one for myself and another example user I can use to simulate document sharing. I've noticed that if I edit a shared document on a site and upload(or check in) it creates a new version as I expect. However when I start a workflow to have another user review and approve the document, it automatically creates a new version with no comment. Why is this/ is there any way to prevent this?

1 Reply
Highlighted
Senior Member II

Re: Why does starting a workflow with a shared document automatically create a new version of the file?

How you are sharing document with another user from site?

Thanks & Regard,
Sanjay