Activiti Java Service Task custom asynchronous behaviour: Complete task using signal or callback

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ramesharana
Member II

Activiti Java Service Task custom asynchronous behaviour: Complete task using signal or callback

I'm very new to Activiti, What i want is not to insert my java service task in a pool but to passivate its behaviour and only complete such task when an external signal is received and/or a callback is called.

ex:

start->service task 1-->Receive Task-->End

In the Service Task i'm calling the third party service.

In the third party service once the request received it will send success ack and then it will further process the request, once after the action performed it will send us the callback with the correlation id.

In this example i need to wait in the service task till get the callback. 

Could you please help me to achieve this functionality with some example.

Thanks in advance.

4 Replies
yogeshpj
Established Member

Re: Activiti Java Service Task custom asynchronous behaviour: Complete task using signal or callback

It just an Idea. There can be two ways to do this.

1)  You can use the timer and set the timing equal to approximate timing of your third party call.

On your call back you need to update any flag with some value. Every time when timer ends it goes to your received task and you need to check weather flag is having updated value or not. If it is not with updated value then you need send back the signal to timer again else go for received task.

2)  On your call back you need to update any flag variable and Create Event listener and on VARIABLE_UPDATE event you need to trigger the further flow.

Hope this helps.

thuynh
Established Member II

Re: Activiti Java Service Task custom asynchronous behaviour: Complete task using signal or callback

Hi Ramesha,