Not able to connect activiti BPM 5.22 to standalone H2 database server

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rao_diid

Not able to connect activiti BPM 5.22 to standalone H2 database server

Hi there,

I am new to Activiti bpm - we are evaluating the product, just starting with it though I have good experience in other BPM products. I am trying to connect activiti BPM to standalone H2 database which I have installed on my machine.

Just to elaborate, I have apache tomcat 8.5.12 up and running with activiti explorer war added to it, have installed latest version of h2 standalone database on my machine and changed jdbc.url property to jdbc:h2:~/activiti .

After It I have restarted H2 and Tomcat, following which I am able to login to activiti explorer with kermit/kermit, but when I login to H2 console I still see a blank database schema with nothing inside it.

Please could someone help/advise what I am doing wrong and how I can connect activiti bpm to stand alone H2 db server.

6 Replies
gdharley
Intermediate

Re: Not able to connect activiti BPM 5.22 to standalone H2 database server

Are models and processes being persisted after a restart of tomcat?

If so, then you are simply pointing your console to a different database (try searching for an activiti.h2.db file).

If not, then you have the configuration incorrect and are still using an in memory database.

Greg

jearles
Established Member II

Pramod,

In my experience this is generally caused by pathing confusions. When you're application, in this case Activiti, utilizes H2 - it creates the local file for the database in the context of the application's location knowledge.
However, I believe - where ever you start the 'h2 console' jar from is referencing its own context. So when trying to connect to an H2 database, I've found that it's generally the easiest to guarantee a connection if you use the full, absolute path of the database location.