BPM Process Monitor.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jaco1
Active Member II

BPM Process Monitor.

Hi all. I have been using Oracle Workflow for the last 18 years. It was way ahead of its time but Oracle has de supported it in 2003 but we did not find any other tool that came close to it. BPMN gives us the same functions now.

In the Workflow tool we have a Monitor where we can see the path the Process took. Like this.

We are also able to interact with the diagram in the tool. If the process fails an item will have a red block around it and we can retry the item.

I have now modeled the same process as a POC in Activity.

Using the REST API I can show the Diagram where the process is at this time.

My question is this. Can Activiti also show the path the process took ? And also how do we interact with the process if a step in the process fails? Let's say the mail server is off-line and can not send an e-mail. Then I should be able to retry the mail step.

Thanks for the help.

Regards

8 Replies
jaco1
Active Member II

Re: BPM Process Monitor.

Anybody ????

jaco1
Active Member II

Is there really nobody who can give me info about this? How do the rest handle it?

deko
Established Member

Hi Jaco,

Dennis here from the Alfresco Support team and I just came accross your post here and thought I had to answer it.

I now checked the behaviour in our Alfresco Process Services (APS) product and in there, administrators or process initiators have a "Show diagram" button, that when clicked opens a dialog that shows them quite nicely in which activity the process instance stands at that time (highlighted in green) and shows the passed path until there (highlighted in blue):

Runtime process diagram

This would of course also work for more complex diagrams with splitting executions or sub-processe :-)